Missoula Public Library | 301 East Main Missoula MT 59802 | (406) 721-2665 | M-W 10am-9pm | Th-Sa 10am-6pm | Su 1-5pm
Databases A-Z

MPL subscribes to a variety of databases to assist you with research, genealogy, auto and small engine repair, and more.  If you are outside of the building, you will need your library card number to log in.

Access Video on DemandNEW! Access Videos On Demand

Stream videos from PBS, BBC, History Channel, A&E, and more from Access Video on Demand. Thousands of streaming documentary, performance, how-to and educational videos. Provided in part by the Missoula Public Library Foundation and the Friends of Missoula Public Library.
Stream Access Vidoes on Demand from home.

Stream Access Videos on Demand in the library.

Ancestery.com

Ancestry

Search the world's largest online family history collection. With 4 billion records available, discovering your family's story is easier than ever. (Currently available from inside our building only)

Auto Repair Reference CenterAuto Repair

Is your car making funny noises? Visit the Auto Repair Reference Center for automotive information dating back to 1945 for all major makes and models of vehicles. Also includes basic care and repair tips and a troubleshooting guide.

Biographry ReferenceBiography Reference Center

Search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender.

Business SourceBusiness Source

Provides full-text coverage for nearly 1,000 business periodicals, ranging from general magazines to trade publications and top management journals.

CINAHLCINAHL with Full Text

CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 580 journals indexed in CINAHL. With full-text coverage dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.

Consumer HealthConsumer Health Complete

Covers all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, and men & women's health.

consumerreports.org

ConsumerReports.org

Whether you're looking for information on lawnmowers, groceries, or the latest in digital cameras, ConsumerReports.org has the rating, reviews, recommendations and buying advice you need.  In addition, you can find advice and tips on saving money, home improvement, personal finance, health and wellness, and more.

EBSCO HostEBSCO Host Research Databases

Search newspapers, encyclopedias, magazines, academic journals, and more on thousands of topics.

Environment CompleteEnvironment Complete

Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete offers records dating back to the 1940s.

ERICERIC

Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. ERIC contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.

FreegalFreegal

Download music - for free! Choose from hip hop, rock, classical, jazz, gospel, folk, comedy recordings, and more. Contact the Reference Desk to set up your free account.

GreenFileGreenFILE

Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Heritage QuestHeritage Quest

A genealogy database to help you research your family history. Search census records, Freedman's Bank and Revolutionary War records, books, articles, and more.
Visit Heritage Quest from inside Missoula Public Library
Visit Heritage Quest from home (You will need to enter a library card number if you are outside our building)

HomeworkMT HomeworkMT

Free online tutoring, academic resources, writing assistance and preparatory testing materials from Tutor.com for all Montana residents. Get help in math, science, social studies or English from a live tutor Sunday through Thursday 2 p.m. — 11 p.m. The SkillsCenter is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Ibistro

ibistroThis is our online public access catalog (OPAC). Search our catalog to see what items we own and which are available. A myBistro account will allow you to review the materials you have checked out, find out when they are due, renew materials, place or cancel holds, check the status of a hold, or change your PIN. Click here to learn how to set up your myBistro account.

Missoual Public Library Kids SearchKids Search

Designed for kids in grades K-8, Kids Search let's you browse information by topic, search encyclopedias and dictionaries, watch online tutorials, and more.

LearningExpress200LearningExpress Library

LearningExpress Library's resources offer practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, and information you need to achieve the success you want—at school, at work, or in life. There is also a Jobs & Careers Center to help with resumes and a Computer Skills Center that offers self-paced computer classes for Windows and MAC.  Have your library card handy when you register because your card number will be the username on your account.

LISTALISTA (Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts)

Indexing and abstracts for 725+ periodicals, plus books, research reports, and proceedings. Subject coverage includes: librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, and more

mangoMango Languages

Mango is an online language-learning system that teaches actual conversation skills for over 40 languages including ESL courses. It's so easy to use you'll see incredible results after just one lesson!

Missoulian IndexMissoulian Index

An index of Missoulian articles, archived here at the Missoula Public Library with the help of our wonderful volunteers.

Montana Statewide Library Resources
Search the magazines, newspapers, and online books, plus the Montana Shared Catalog, the Montana Memory Project, and WorldCat.

MorningstarMorningstar

Morningstar.com Library Edition helps you make smart investment decisions. Find a stock or fund to meet your needs, research current or prospective holdings, or see how your investments fit together.
Visit Morningstar from home
.

NextReadsNextReads

Sign up to have book suggestions delivered right to your email. Choose from bestsellers and over 20 different genres.

NoveList PlisNovelist Plus

NoveList is a database that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 135,000 fiction and non-fiction titles. It also includes other content of interest to readers, such as Author Read-alikes, What We're Reading, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Annotated Book Lists.

NoveListPLusK8Novelist K-8 Plus

NoveList K-8 allows you to discover the fiction and non-fiction titles that are popular with young readers as well as titles to use in your classroom. The NoveList Learning Center provides a complete introduction to the product and shows you how to use NoveList to meet the reading needs of your students. You can access the Learning Center by clicking on its link in the left hand column of your screen.

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective 1890-1982
Search more than 3 million articles from some 375 leading magazines!  This database uses both historical and updated subject headings to give access to over a century of articles from a contemporaneous perspective.

Missoula Public Library SearchasaurusSearchasaurus

A research database specifically for primary school students. Find answers, develop research skills, and learn something new!

Small Engine RepairSmall Engine Repair Reference Center

Need to fix your lawn mower, boat engine, or any other small engine? Check out the Small Engine Repair Reference Center for diagrams, troubleshooting tips and service fundamentals. Most major makes and models are included.

Student Research CenterStudent Research Center

Perfect for high school students, this resources provides access to magazines, newspapers, biographies, country reports, film, video and more. Search by topic or use the online dictionaries and encyclopedias.

Teacher Reference Center

Teacher Reference Center

270+ indexed and abstracted magazines/journals (96% are peer-reviewed). Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.

ThomasNetThomas Register ThomasNet

Search ThomasNet to find manufacturers, distributors and service providers--from Actuators to Zirconium and everything in between.  Find 67,000 searchable categories, millions of downloadable CAD drawings 100% relevant and comprehensive industrial results as well as breaking industrial news and information.

Vital RecordsVital Record Index

An index to newspaper articles indicating a life event such as births, deaths, etc. from Montana newspapers. For a full listing of the events indexed see the exact search screen in the database. This index currently contains records from the Missoulian and the Missoula Republic with records going back to the early 1890s. Coverage is incomplete with records being added on an ongoing basis. For more information contact the Reference Desk.